4th Annual Norwegian SnowboardAwards 2009

This weekend the Norwegian snowboard community gathers to celebrate the best of the best when it comes to riders, rookies, films, pictures, outstanding performances and more. This annual award ceremony and party is to be held for the 4th time and also this year the whole community from Torstein Horgmo and Kjersti Buaas to local riders, voluntary workers and photographers join in for the big party.

The Awards will be held at Cosmopolite in Oslo on the 17th of October, starting at 7pm. 12 prizes will be handed out and with Yoga Fire on stage and DJ Soulshock in house both the celebration will go on throughout the night.
– It’s great fun working with the best riders in Norway, and helping them reach the last steps in becoming part of the world elite. He goes on to say how
– SnowboardAwards is cool, because you see the riders, industry people and general people gather to give each other a pad on the back. It is the whole of Norwegian snowboarding that has put us on among the top snowboarding nations in the world, and that needs celebrating, Roger Hjelmstadstuen, head coach for the national team says.

The awards that will be handed out this year and the nominees for the awards are:

Best Male Rider:
Mikkel Bang
Torstein Horgmo
Andreas Yngre Wiig
Ståle Sandbech

Best Female Rider:
Linn Haug
Helene Olafsen
Kjersti Buaas
Lisa Wiik

Best Male Rookie:
Aleksander Östereng
Petter Bakken Kristiansen
Brage Bråten Richenberg
Trym Nordgaard

Best Female Rookie:
Silje Norendal
Cecillie Marie Vedvik
Nora Thompson
Maria Jones

Other categories that will be awarded:

Best Snowboard Movie
Standout of the Year
Best riding part in Snowboard Movie
Best photo shoot/Photographer
Best local Snowboard club
The Spirit Awards
The Snowboard Federations Honours Award

More info: